ISO 45001 Has Been Published

ISO 45001 Has Been Published

  • Date: Tuesday 20th March 2018
  • PDF: Download

ISO 45001:2018, Occupational health and safety management systems – Requirements with guidance for use has been published by the International Organisation for Standardization (ISO). This is the world’s first International Standard for occupational health and safety and more than 70 countries were directly involved in its creation. It sets out to provide a robust and effective set of processes for improving worker health and safety in global supply chains for organisations of all sizes, regardless of their location. The expectation is to reduce workplace injuries and illnesses around the world, by driving continual improvements in occupational health and safety performance.

ISO 45001: A ‘game changer’

According to 2017 calculations by the International Labour Organisation, 2.78 million fatal accidents occur at work annually. This means that, every day, almost 7,700 persons die of work-related diseases or injuries. Additionally, there are some 374 million non-fatal work-related injuries and illnesses each year, many of these resulting in extended absences from work. This paints a sober picture of the modern workplace – one where workers can suffer serious consequences as a result of simply “doing their job”.

David Smith, Chair of the project committee that developed ISO 45001, believes the standard will be a real game changer for millions of workers: “It is hoped that ISO 45001 will lead to a major transformation in workplace practices and reduce the tragic toll of work-related accidents and illnesses across the globe.”

Replacing OHSAS 18001

ISO 45001 is designed to integrate with other ISO management systems standards and is compatible with the new versions of ISO 9001 (quality management) and ISO 14001 (environmental management). It should be relatively straightforward for businesses that already implement an ISO standard to work towards ISO 45001.

The new occupational health and safety standard is based on a simple Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) model. This provides a framework to minimize the risk of harm by adopting measures to address issues that can lead to long-term health issues and absence from work, as well as those that give rise to accidents.

ISO 45001 will replace OHSAS 18001. Organisations already certified to OHSAS 18001 have three years to comply with the new ISO 45001 standard.

Source: SHP Online

SSG can provide further information if you are considering accreditation or are seeking to migrate existing certification to the new standard.

Bookmark and Share

Return to listings