Main Banner

BS OHSAS 18001:2007 - Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems

OHSAS 18001 is an internationally recognised voluntary standard for occupational health and safety management systems. It enables businesses to strategically align processes and demonstrate their commitment to the continuous improvement of H&S performance through the use of a recognised system based around the "Plan, Do, Check, Act" cycle.

OHSAS 18001 is commonly asked for in the PQQ / tender application process and being able to provide a copy of a certificate from a UKAS accredited company makes this process far easier, often giving you a competitive edge over rival companies.

The following top level structure is employed by OHSAS 18001:

  • Occupational H&S Policy
  • Planning
  • Implementation and Operation
  • Checking and Corrective Action
  • Management Review

A new, updated version of the OHSAS 18001 standard is expected in late 2016, when it shall finally be granted ISO status and be renamed "ISO 45001".  This will bring the H&S elements into line with the new, updated Annex SL structure recently introduced for the commonly integrated Quality and Environment management elements in late 2015.

For further advice on the forthcoming 2016 changes to the OHSAS 18001 standard and its potential impact on existing H&S management systems please contact the SSG team who will be happy to help with your enquiry.

Page 1 of 1